Scientific Advisory Board

Beth Karlan, M.D., Chair
Dr. Karlan specializes in ovarian cancer surgery and has spearheaded research that has contributed to innovative ovarian cancer treatments. She directs the Cedars-Sinai Women’s Cancer Research Institute at the Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute and is an expert in gynecologic oncology. She also directs the Division of Gynecologic Oncology, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and the Gilda Radner Hereditary Cancer Detection Program. She is also a professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. Dr. Karlan graduated from Harvard Medical School and the Harvard-Massachusetts Institute of Technology Program in Health Sciences and Technology.

Douglas Levine, M.D.
Dr. Levine is a surgical oncologist at NYU Langone Health, who specializes in treating ovarian and uterine cancers. He leads the Gynecology Research Laboratory, where he investigates genomic predictors for ovarian and endometrial cancers. By identifying these markers, he hopes to determine which patients will respond to a specific therapy. He has authored or co-authored more than 200 peer-reviewed research papers, review articles, and book chapters. Dr. Levine’s work has been funded by the National Cancer Institute, the Department of Defense, Stand Up To Cancer, Ovarian Cancer Research Fund Alliance, the Gynecologic Cancer Foundation, and the Entertainment Industry Foundation.  Dr. Levine completed medical school at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine, and his residency in obstetrics and gynecology at Mount Sinai Medical Center. He then completed a gynecologic oncology fellowship at Memorial Sloan Kettering.

Ursula Matulonis, M.D.
Dr. Matulonis is medical director and program leader of the Medical Gynecologic Oncology Program at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School. She investigates targeted therapies for gynecologic cancer, with a focus on the genetic changes associated with ovarian cancer and how those can be used to select the most appropriate therapies.  Dr. Matulonis serves on the National Comprehensive Cancer Network Ovarian Cancer Recommendation and Guideline Committee for both ovarian cancer and anemia, the Gynecologic Oncology Group Quality of Life Committee, a member of The Cancer Genome Atlas Project (TCGA) Endometrial Analysis Working Group. After receiving her MD from Albany Medical College, she completed an internship and residency at the University of Pittsburgh, followed by a medical oncology fellowship at Dana-Farber.

Julie Cherrington, Ph.D.
Dr. Cherrington is president and CEO of Arch Oncology, an immuno-oncology company. Prior to that, she served as president and CEO of Revitope, which was also focused on immuno-oncology. Before that, she was president and CEO of Zenith Epigenetics, a bromodomain inhibitor company. From 2009 to 2014, Dr. Cherrington was president and CEO of Pathway Therapeutics, a clinical stage company advancing targeted kinase inhibitors. Prior to that, she served as president and EVP of R&D at Phenomix Corporation. Dr. Cherrington earned her Ph.D. in microbiology and immunology at the University of Minnesota and Stanford. She conducted her postdoctoral research at the University of California, San Francisco.

Deborah Zajchowski, Ph.D., Scientific Director, Clearity Foundation
Dr. Zajchowski has been with The Clearity Foundation since its inception and strives to bring new, evidence-based approaches to patients. A cancer biologist, she has pursued cancer research and drug discovery for more than 25 years. Prior to joining Clearity, Dr. Zajchowski was a senior project leader at Berlex Biosciences, where she led multi-disciplinary oncology research teams and cardiovascular research. She is an active member of the American Association for Cancer Research and the American Society of Clinical Oncologists, as well as a reviewer for several scientific journals. She has published many research articles on cancer genomics, estrogen action and transcriptional control. Dr. Zajchowski received her Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Chicago.